Akwa Mmiri

A BRIDGE BETWEEN LEVERKUSEN AND NIGERIA

How everything began:

In the summer of 2011, a school class of the Marienschule in Leverkusen with the help of Sister Petra Chukwudike, the, then, community superior of the local Convent of the Daughters of Divine Love in Leverkusen-Opladen, initiated the first aid campaign to enable a child in Enugu, Nigeria, to attend school.

Sarah came from a village where she would not be able to get a solid education, partly because she had to contribute to the income of the family as a child. In a variety of fundraising campaigns, selling waffles, junk-dubs, movie nights and making music in various churches and dormitories, as well as organizing church services, students raised nearly € 4,000 within a school year, enough money to finance Sarah’s school and boarding school visit for six years.

The association Akwa Mmiri e.V. for the children in Charity Home

In order to continue and deepen this commitment, we founded the association Akwa Mmiri e.V in the spring of 2012. In this association, we wanted to combine the use of additional classes at the Marienschule, but also find additional supporters beyond the Marienschule. This is because not only should individual sponsored children be able to attend school, but also the work of the sisters in the Children’s Home Charity Home should be supported. This is because in this house also live some of our godchildren.

WE HAVE SET TOGETHER THESE OBJECTIVES:

  1. The concern for adequate housing for the children and their carers.
  2. Ensuring a healthy and regular diet as well as good care of the sick.
  3. To guarantee school attendance for children from the Charity Home.

AKWA MMIRI BOARD

Logo-Akwa-MMiri

Akwa Mmiri e.V.
We build a future for children.

Association statute as PDF

montkowski-Porträt 70

Walter Montkowski
Chairman

Phone: 0214 – 23 563

Schwester-Petra Chukwudike 2

Schw. Petra Chukwudike
Deputy Chairwoman

Tel .: 02171 – 91 34 646
Mobile: 0152 – 57 95 34 63

Fontaine

Monica Fontaine
Deputy Chairwoman

Phone.: 02173-98 96 68

Dieter-Braun

Dieter Braun
Treasurer

Phone: 0214 – 75 374

Ansgar Szw

Ansgar Szwierczynski
Secretary

Phone: 02171 – 48 901

Akwa Mmiri

EINE BRÜCKE
ZWISCHEN LEVERKUSEN UND NIGERIA

Wie alles anfing:

Im Sommer 2011 initiierte eine Schulklasse der Marienschule in Leverkusen mit Hilfe von Schwester Petra Chukwudike, der Leiterin des hiesigen Konvents der Töchter der Göttlichen Liebe, die erste Hilfsaktion, um einem Kind im Nigerianischen Enugu den Schulbesuch zu ermöglichen.

Sarah stammte aus einem Dorf, wo ihr eine solide Schulbildung nicht möglich wäre, unter anderem auch, weil sie als Kind schon zum Einkommen der Familie beitragen musste. In vielfältigen Spendenaktionen, durch den Verkauf von  Waffeln, Trödel, durch Filmabende und Musizieren in verschiedenen Kirchen und Wohnheimen sowie durch die Gestaltung von Gottesdiensten sammelte die Schüler innerhalb eines Schuljahres fast 4.000 €, genug Geld, um Sarah den Schul- und Internatsbesuch für sechs Jahre zu finanzieren.

Der Verein Akwa Mmiri e.V. für die Kinder im Charity Home

Um dieses Engagement fortzuführen und auch zu vertiefen, gründeten wir im Frühjahr 2012 den Verein Akwa Mmiri e.V. In diesem Verein wollten wir zum einen den Einsatz weiterer Klassen in der Marienschule bündeln, aber auch weitere Unterstützer über die Marienschule hinaus finden. Denn es sollte nicht nur einzelnen Patenkinder der Schulbesuch ermöglicht werden, sondern auch die Arbeit der Schwestern im Kinderheim Charity Home unterstützt werden. Denn in diesem Haus leben auch einige unserer Patenkinder.

DAS HABEN WIR UNS ZUM ZIEL GESETZT:

  1. Die Sorge für eine adäquate Unterbringung für die Kinder und ihre Betreuerinnen.
  2. Die Sicherung einer gesunden und regelmäßigen Ernährung sowie einer guten Betreuung der Kranken.
  3. Den Schulbesuch für Kinder aus dem Charity Home zu garantieren.

VORSTAND AKWA MMIRI

Logo-Akwa-MMiri

Akwa Mmiri e.V.
Wir bauen Kindern eine Zukunft.

Vereinssatzung als PDF

montkowski-Porträt 70

Walter Montkowski
1. Vorsitzender

Tel.: 0214 – 23 563

Schwester-Petra Chukwudike 2

Schw. Petra Chukwudike
stellv. Vorsitzende

Tel.: 02171 – 91 34 646
Mobil: 0152 – 57 95 34 63

Fontaine

Monika Fontaine
stellv. Vorsitzende

Tel.: 02173-98 96 68

Dieter-Braun

Dieter Braun
Kassenwart

Tel.: 0214 – 75 374

Ansgar Szw

Ansgar Szwierczynski
Schriftführer

Tel.: 02171 – 48 901