Why Nigeria?

This is because here, your help is urgently needed.

Although Nigeria is Africa’s largest oil producer, the overwhelming majority of the population lives in poverty there. The average income of a family is just € 85 per month and there is also an unemployment rate of 40%! To make matters worse, there is the appalling level of corruption that prevents a lot state aid from reaching where it is needed. Often the weakest in society suffer the most from this situation. It’s the children – this is where our work begins.

With our clubs we can help locally.

Since the help really arrives here.

Our aid projects in Enugu are conducted by the Sisters of the Congregation of Daughters of Divine Love (DDL). The Congregation is active worldwide. The DDL sisters living in Leverkusen are our link to the people of Enugu and are also a guarantee that your donations will be used well and responsibly. In this way, our work gets a personal connection to the helpers and the supported people.

The use of your donations is comprehensible at any time.

The “DDL Project development and Coordination”  is a bridge between Germany and Nigeria

The congregation of the Daughters of Divine Love, abbreviated as (DDL) is a Catholic order of the religious women with pontifical right. The sisters have committed themselves to the goal of carrying the message of the love of God into the world through their active service to needy people.

The congregation was founded in 1969 in Nigeria, where it still has its headquarters today. The circle of the approximately 1000 sisters, however, goes far beyond Nigeria’s borders – about 1/3 of the sisters is active in other African countries, but also in Europe and in America.

The focus of the charitable work of the DDL Sisters is on children and adolescents. The congregation maintains its own schools, hospitals and children’s homes in many countries, where the most vulnerable are primarily cared for. Other measures support women, single educators, the homeless and the sick.

DDL Sisters at the work in children’s home Charity Chome

In Germany, about 80 DDL sisters work in various health and social sectors. In Leverkusen too, the Blue Sisters – as they are often called on the basis of the colour of their veils – are active. Four of them from the Convent in Leverkusen-Opladen work at the local archbishop’s Marienschule and in St. Remigius Hospital Leverkusen-Opladen, where the very first aid campaign for a schoolchild was also launched in Nigeria.

The sisters are extremely important to the work of the development. They are the link between the supporters in Germany and the people in need in Nigeria:

  • Here on the site, they are the driving force in acquiring donations. As part of “DDL Project development and Coordination Germany” by Sr. Petra Chukwudike, who is also active in both boards, it coordinates the work of the two organisations Akwa Mmiri e.V. presented here and perspectives for Nigeria e.V
  • In Nigeria, the sisters themselves help the needy in schools, homes, hospitals etc.  They guarantee that your donations will be conscientiously used.

Of course, we as an association and you as a potential donor are interested in ensuring that all funds are really used for the purposes stated. That is why we have named “ambassadors” in Enugu who vouch for the statutory use of the funds. These are:

Sr. Kate (Directress of Charity Home)
Sr. Fidelma Chianumba
Sr. Uchenna Nwafor (ACA, ACCA)
Dr. Blaise Emebo
Pfr. Prof. Ignatius Obinwa

Donation Account:

IBAN: GB40 CITI 1850 0810 3866 42
SWIFT: CITIGB2L
SORT CODE: 185008

EURO ACCOUNT NO: 10386642

ACCOUNT NAME: FIDELITY BANK PLC FOR FURTHER CREDIT TO AKWA MMIRI e.V, A/C NO 5090477573

Please support our work!

Become a member of one of our organizations.

Support us in practical terms, for example by making friends, acquaintances and our work known to them. We would be happy to send you information material.

And last but not least, we also need your financial help.

Warum Nigeria?

Weil hier Ihre Hilfe dringend nötig ist

Obwohl Nigeria der größte Erdölproduzent Afrikas ist, lebt dort die überwiegende Mehrheit der Bevölkerung in Armut. Das durchschnittliche Einkommen einer Familie beträgt gerade einmal 85 € pro Monat und das bei einer Arbeitslosenquote von 40%! Erschwerend kommt das erschreckende Ausmaß an Korruption hinzu, das viele staatliche Hilfen nicht dahin gelangen lässt, wo sie nötig wären. Oft leiden gerade die schwächsten der Gesellschaft unter dieser Situation am meisten. Es sind die Kinder – hier setzt unsere Arbeit an.

Mit unseren Vereinen können wir direkt vor Ort helfen

Weil hier die Hilfe auch wirklich ankommt

Unsere Hilfsprojekte in Enugu werden von den Schwestern der Kongregation Töchter der Göttlichen Liebe (DDL-Orden) durchgeführt. Die Kongregation ist weltweit aktiv. Die in Leverkusen lebenden DDL-Schwestern stellen unsere Verbindung zu den Menschen in Enugu her und sind auch ein Garant dafür, dass Ihre Spenden gut und verantwortungsvoll eingesetzt werden. Auf diese Weise bekommt unsere Arbeit einen persönlichen Bezug zu den Helfern und den unterstützten Menschen vor Ort.

Der Einsatz Ihrer Spenden ist jederzeit nachvollziehbar.

DDL-Projektentwicklung und -koordination als Brücke zwischen Deutschland und Nigeria

Die Kongregation „Töchter der Göttlichen Liebe“  (auf Englisch Daughters of Divine Love – kurz DDL) ist ein katholischer Frauenorden. Die Schwestern haben sich dem Ziel verschrieben, die Botschaft von der Liebe Gottes  durch ihren aktiven Dienst an hilfsbedürftigen Menschen in die Welt zu tragen.

Die Kongregation wurde 1969 in Nigeria gegründet, wo sie auch heute noch ihren Hauptsitz hat. Der Wirkungskreis der rund 1000  Schwestern geht allerdings weit über Nigerias Grenzen hinaus – ca. 1/3 der Schwestern ist in weiteren afrikanischen Ländern tätig, aber auch in Europa und in Amerika.

Im Fokus der caritativen Arbeit der DDL-Schwestern stehen Kinder und Jugendliche. Der Orden unterhält in vielen Ländern eigene Schulen, Krankenstationen und Kinderheime,  wo vorrangig die sozial schwächsten versorgt werden. Andere Maßnahmen unterstützen Frauen, Alleinerziehende, Obdachlose und Kranke.

DDL-Schwestern im Einsatz im Kinderheim in Enugu / Nigeria

In Deutschland sind ca. 80 DDL-Schwestern in verschiedenen Gesundheits- und Sozialsektoren tätig. Auch in Leverkusen sind die Schwestern aktiv. Vier davon aus dem Konvent in Leverkusen-Opladen wirken an die hiesigen Erzbischöflichen Marienschule, wo auch die allererste Hilfsaktion für ein Schulkind in Nigeria gestartet wurde.

Die Schwestern sind für die Hilfsarbeit enorm wichtig. Sie sind das Bindeglied zwischen den Unterstützern in Deutschland und den Hilfsbedürftigen in Nigeria:

  • Hier vor Ort sind sie die treibende Kraft bei der Akquise von Spendengeldern. Koordiniert wird die Arbeit dieser beiden Vereine im Rahmen der DDL-Projektentwicklung und -koordination durch Schwester Petra Chukwudike, die auch in beiden Vorständen aktiv ist.
  • In Nigeria tragen die DDL-Schwestern selbst in Schulen, Heimen und Krankenstationen die Hilfe zu den Bedürftigen. Sie sind der Garant dafür, dass Ihre Spenden gewissenhaft eingesetzt werden.

Natürlich haben wir als Verein und Sie als potentieller Spender Interesse daran, dass alle Gelder wirklich für die angegebene Zwecke verwendet werden. Deshalb haben wir „Botschafter“ in Enugu benannt, die für die satzungsgemäße Verwendung der Gelder bürgen. Dies sind:

Sr. Kate (Leiterin von Charity Home)
Sr. Fidelma Chianumba
Sr. Uchenna Nwafor (staatlich geprüfte Bilanzbuchhalterin)
Dr. Blaise Emebo
Pfr. Prof. Ignatius Obinwa

Spendenkonto:

IBAN: GB40 CITI 1850 0810 3866 42
SWIFT: CITIGB2L
SORT CODE: 185008

EURO ACCOUNT NO: 10386642

ACCOUNT NAME: FIDELITY BANK PLC FOR FURTHER CREDIT TO AKWA MMIRI e.V, A/C NO 5090477573

Bitte unterstützen auch Sie unsere Arbeit!

Werden Sie Mitglied in einem unserer Vereine.

Unterstützen Sie uns ganz praktisch, indem sie z.B. bei Freunden, Bekannten uns und unsere Arbeit bekanntmachen. Gerne senden wir Ihnen Informationsmaterial zu.

Und nicht zuletzt: wir benötigen auch Ihre finanzielle Hilfe.